Curriculum System

What Do We Learn?

We offer 「Disciplinary Courses」, 「Featured Courses」 and 「Moonshot Projects」 to promote learners to achieve rigorous academic learning and comprehensive quality development and eventually help them become lifelong learners and active participants in society.

Disciplinary Courses

Based on the school mission, Moonshot Academy has developed a bilingual curriculum that is mainly based on National Chinese Curriculum Standards, referring to and passing the AP international curriculum system certification, and balanced Chinese characteristics and the admission requirements of overseas universities.

 

Disciplinary courses are mainly in projects and seminars, using a combination of online and offline learning scenarios. On the basis of meeting the academic ability required by the University, they promote learners to think about the links between subject knowledge, personal life and the real world, and constantly cultivate learners' ability of autonomous learning and teach for not teaching.

 

Moonshot Academy has six divisions and two centers, providing a wide range of subject choices including core and electives to help learners build a solid academic foundation.

 

The disciplinary courses of Moonshot Academy adopts the class-selection system, learners choose courses difficulty level according to their academic level. The course numbers 1001, 2001, 3001, 4001 correspond to the course difficulty of grades 9, 10, 11 and 12; 5001 corresponds to AP difficulty and 6001 corresponds to post AP difficulty.

 

Moonshot Academy offers a total of 18 AP courses and AP Capstone Diploma Program.

Featured Courses

Moonshot Academy's Featured Courses consist of courses in four areas: Self-awareness, Systems Thinking, Introduction to the History of Chinese Culture, and Western Philosophy. They are required courses for all learners.


We hope to support learners' further development in self-awareness and systems thinking through Featured Courses, so as find their bearings and stay confident in the changing world.

Moonshot Project

The Moonshot Project, an extension of the disciplinary curriculum, encourages learners to use their disciplinary knowledge to systematically solve real-world problems.


The Moonshot Project consists of the Sustainable Development Project (SDP) and the Capstone Project. The SDP is designed for lower grade (Grade 9, Grade 10) learners; the Capstone Project is designed for upper grade (Grade 11, Grade 12) learners and covers academic research, incubator, and arts.

How Do We Learn?

In Moonshot Academy, we comprehensively practice competency based education and provide a curriculum that not only includes knowledge, but also cultivates core competence. Courses in Moonshot Academy have three characteristics:

Emphasis on Cognitive Skills

Moonshot Academy actively cultivates the cognitive skills of learners and trains the skills of 「input-processing-output」 while emphasizing the entire process from 「acquiring academic knowledge」 to 「the ability of exploration」.


Input: The curriculum of Moonshot Academy requires extensive reading, which constantly trains learners to quickly capture, analyze and synthesize valid information. This 「input」 builds a solid foundation for subsequent learning and output, which is essential throughout the learning process.


Processing: Most courses in Moonshot involves with reflection. After a period of study, learners may experience a change of their previous perceptions and a new perspective may emerge. Since such changes only occur in the process of thinking, Moonshot Academy hopes to make learners consciously aware of and demonstrate the process of such changes. Thus, whether it is the revision of learners' assignments or the learners' reflection reports after completing the project, such 「processing」 will be visualized, which allows teachers to keep track of the learner's thinking process simultaneously and assist them in a more specific way. 


Output: Moonshot Academy provides a variety of learning tasks as outputs, covering writings, speeches, and prototypes, to comprehensively help learners reach the last step in the closed-loop of learning and improve their cognitive abilities.

Focus on Authenticity

Unlike exams, real problems are often ambiguous, full of constraints, limitations, and a variety of unpredictable surprises. And solutions could vary significantly. The ability to solve real problems is also the core of the 「active, compassionate」 part of the Moonshot Competency Model.


Moonshot Academy is devoted to developing learners' systematic problem-solving abilities involving 「real societal issues」:


Our economics guardians (in Moonshot, teachers are called guardians) will comment on recent topics and issues in the classroom. They would explain the logic behind some phenomena from the perspectives of economics while combining subject knowledge to show learners the real embodiment of knowledge in life. Our mathematics guardians will use real problems as a guide to design course topics, encouraging learners to collect information and do modeling to complete the test questions. Our project coaches will focus on a real social problem, constantly guiding learners to use the subject knowledge to solve practical social problems, create social values, and promote the development of society in a positive direction.

Apply Performance Assessment

Traditional examinations = knowledge = what learners know

Performance assessment = ability = what learners can do with what they know


Performance assessment is an evaluation of 「what can be done」 by looking at 「what is done」. If the learner's goal is to learn basic facts and skills, then traditional tests and quizzes are generally effective assessments. However, when the learner's goal is to learn to know what they can do with what they have learned, they need to be evaluated on more complicated performances to see if their goals have been achieved.


In our courses, guardians will design different types of performance assessments for different competencies. Currently, there are four types of performance assessment tasks in a learner's profile.


  • Textual Analysis: Learners will read a text closely and analyze it with detailed textual evidence.
  • Argumentative Writing: Learners will 「take a position on an issue or topic and explain and support the position with research from reliable and credible sources」.
  • Exploration Report: Learners will formulate a question that can be explored by scientific, mathematical, or social investigation, and recount the progress and conclusion of studying it in the form of a report.
  • Creative Expression: With their critical and creative thoughts, learners are expected to investigate and discuss topics related to art traditions and their personal life through the medium of art forms. They should be able to communicate their thoughts and demonstrate their understandings of art thoughts and practices.

Defense System

In competency based education, defense system supports learners to authentically present their phased learning achievements, summarizes and reviews their learning development, which is a very important academic activity in each academic year.

Defense System

Moonshot Academy is committed to competency based education with competency development at its core and aims to support our graduates to succeed in college, future careers, and life. As such, all Moonshot Academy graduates are required to have a complete learner graduation portfolio, which consists of a series of pieces of work produced by the learner during their learning experience at Moonshot. This portfolio includes textual analysis, argumentative writing, exploration report, creative expression, and summaries of the learners' exploration of their learning and development at each stage of their academic courses and projects based on performance-based assessment.

 

Each spring semester, Moonshot Academy conducts a competency defense for all learners. It is a very important academic activity for both Moonshot and all learners in each academic year.

 

It encourages learners to accumulate their works in their portfolios at each grade level, provide a vivid representation of each learner's learning outcomes, and systematically demonstrate how much they have achieved at each grade level. At the same time, the specific format of the defense can effectively deepen learners' reflection on their learning outcomes and self-growth, and significantly help learners win others' trust through a presentation.

 

A quality defense also provides an opportunity for all teachers to share a common understanding of the expectations and requirements of expressive assessment and to calibrate the rubrics for evaluating learners among themselves.

Defense timeline

  • Grade 9 learners complete their project presentations and observe the senior learners' responses.
  • Grade 10 learners complete the Track defense and clarify their professional development at the senior level.
  • Grade 11 learners complete the Target defense to clarify their options for the next stage of the college application.
  • Grade 12 learners complete the Moonshot defense and are approved to graduate.

课程体系

我们学什么?

学习者通过「学科课程」、「荣誉课程」和「探月项目」,实现严谨的学术学习和综合的素养发展。采用表现性评价,支持并见证每个人成为自我引导的终身学习者和积极行动的社会创变者。

学科课程

探月基于培养目标,以中国新课标学科素养为主轴,参考并通过 AP 国际课程体系认证,自主研发了一套兼顾中国特色和海外大学录取要求的双语课程体系。

学科课程主要以项目和研讨的形式,运用线上线下相结合的学习场景,在达到大学所要求的学术能力之上,促进学习者思考学科知识、个人生活以及真实世界的链接,不断培养学习者自主学习的能力,为不教而教。

探月设有六大学部和两大中心,皆开设必修课与选修课,为学习者提供广泛的学科选择。它们分别是:数学学部、英语和人文学部、中国研究学部、科学学部、社会科学学部、技术与工程学部、艺术中心和运动与健康教育中心。

探月的学科课程采用走班选课制,学习者根据自己的学术水平,选择相应难度的课程。以下课程编号中,1001,2001, 3001,4001 分别对应 9、10、11、12 年级课程难度;5001 对应AP难度,6001 对应 post AP 难度。

探月共开设 18 门 AP 课程和 AP Capstone Diploma Program 高阶课程。

荣誉课程

探月荣誉课程包括:自我认知、系统思维、中国文化史导论和西方哲学四个领域的课程,是探月学习者的必修课。

荣誉课程的设置旨在支持学习者们,从自我、系统、东方、西方,四个板块去触摸人类文明的支点。带领学习者站在人类文明的智慧光芒中,进行更多的反思与观察,不断思考独立于社会的个人追求终极价值所需要的力量。从而使学习者在飞速变化的世界中持续建立文化自信与全球理解。

探月项目

探月项目是学科课程的延申,鼓励学习者利用所学的学科知识,系统化解决真实的社会问题。

探月项目包括可持续发展项目 (Sustainable Development Project, 简称SDP) 和探月顶点项目 (Capstone Project)。可持续发展项目为低年级 ( 9 年级、10 年级) 学习者而设计;顶点项目则面向高年级 ( 11 年级、12 年级) 学习者而设计,涵盖了学术研究、孵化器和艺术创作三大方向。

我们如何学习

在探月我们全面实践素养本位教育,提供不仅习得知识、更培养核心能力的课程体系。探月的课程有三个特点:

强调认知能力

探月注重培养学习者良好的认知能力,训练学习者获得「输入 - 处理 - 输出」的技能,探索从「学习掌握」到「实践探索」的全部过程。

输入:学习者在探月的课程中会接触大量的阅读,在此过程中,将不断训练快速抓取有效信息,及分析、整合内容的能力。这种“输入”的训练在整个学习的过程中是不可或缺的,并且为后续的学习和产出构建坚实的基础。

处理:培养学习者的「反思」能力,几乎渗透进了探月的每门课程。学习者经过一段时间的学习后,对于这门课的认知有了更深入的了解,由此可能会对之前的认识产生变化,出现新的观点和结论。然而,这样的变化只出现在大脑思考中,探月希望让学习者有意识地觉察这种变化过程。所以在探月,将会通过让学习者完成作业的二次迭代、修改、项目后的反思报告等形式,把这一「处理」过程可视化。这样既可以使导师同步了解学习者的思维过程,同时能够更加有针对性地帮助学习者进行自我探索。

 输出:探月提供了多种输出类型的学习任务,涵盖写作、演讲、实体产出,全面帮助学习者达成学习闭环中的最后一步,提升认知能力。

注重真实性

与普通考试不同,真实世界的问题往往界限含糊不明,充满约束和限制,还有各种难以预料的意外,应对方法更是千变万化。而拥有解决实际问题的能力是探月素养模型中「积极行动」部分的核心。

探月课程一直围绕「真实社会问题」,鼓励并培养学习者系统化解决问题的能力。

例如:经济学课上,老师们会评论近期发生的时事热点,运用经济学的思维阐述现象背后的逻辑运作,同时结合学科知识,让学习者看到书本上的知识在生活中的真实体现;数学学习中,老师们会以真实问题作为引导,设计课程题目,鼓励学习者搜集信息并建模,完成测试的题目;探月项目的导师则会聚焦一个真实社会问题,不断引导学习者运用学科课程中所学到的知识解决社会实际问题,创造社会价值,推动社会向积极方向发展。

采用表现性评价

传统考试 = 知识 = 学习者知道什么
表现性评价 = 能力 = 学习者可以用自己知道的东西做什么

表现性评价——通过观察「所做的」来评价「能做的」。如果学习者的目标是学习基本事实和技能,那么书面测试和随堂测验一般就是有效的评估措施。然而,当学习者的目标是深层理解,想知道他们可以用所学做什么时,就需要凭借他们更复杂的表现来评价其目标是否已经达到。

在课程中,导师们会设计不同类型、不同大小、针对不同能力的表现性评价。目前,探月学院会收录进学习者个人档案的表现性评价任务的产出一共有四种:

文本分析:学习者将仔细阅读一篇文章,并以详细的文本证据对其进行分析。

论述写作:学习者将「对一个问题或话题选择立场,并通过来源确凿可靠的研究解释并支持这一立场」。

探究报告:学习者将提出一个可以通过科学、数学或社会调查来探索的问题,并以报告的形式总述探究该问题的详细过程和对该问题的结论。

创意表达:学习者将进行批判性和创造性的思考,并以艺术为工具,调查和讨论与艺术传统和他们生活有关的话题和关注点,来交流他们的想法,展示他们对艺术思维和艺术实践的理解。

答辩体系

在素养教育中,答辩体系支持学习者生动地展示阶段性学习成果,总结回顾自身学习发展,是每学年中非常重要的学术活动。

答辩体系

探月致力于以能力发展为核心的素养教育,旨在支持我们的毕业生在大学、未来的工作和生活中拥有更多的可能性。因此,所有探月毕业生都必须拥有一个完整的学习者毕业档案袋,该档案袋由学习者在探月的学习经历中的一系列作品组成。这些作品涵盖了学习者在学术课程和项目中基于表现性评价所产出的文本分析、探究报告、论述写作、创意表达,以及在每个阶段对自身学习和发展探索方面的总结回顾报告。

探月每年春季学期开展面向全体学习者的素养答辩工作。对于学院和每位学习者而言,素养答辩是每个学年中一项非常重要的学术活动。

素养答辩支持学习者在每个年级都能不断累积自己档案袋中的作品,生动地体现每位学习者的阶段性学习成果,系统地展示探月学院在不同年级达成自身培养目标的程度。与此同时,答辩这一特定形式可以有效加深学习者对学习成果的反思和自我成长的认识,并显著提升学习者通过自我陈述获得他人信任的能力。

素养答辩也提供了一个机会来确保所有教师对表现性评价的期待和要求有着共同的理解,并校准他们之间对学习者的评价标准。

答辩时间线

  • 9 年级学习者完成项目展示,观摩高年级学习者的答辩;
  • 10 年级学习者完成 Track 答辩,明确在高年级的专业发展方向;
  • 11 年级学习者完成 Target 答辩,明确下一阶段大学申请的选择;
  • 12 年级学习者完成 Moonshot 答辩,获准毕业。