Community Life

Moonshot Community

Warm, free, close, and just right

"The Moonshot community life connects learners, mentors, and families. Here, you know everyone and are well known by everyone. Co-building is the core of the Moonshot community, and changes will happen to you if you live in an environment like this. In the warm, free, and close Moonshot community, you will know lifelong friends with common ideals, hobbies, and different personalities."

Our Campus

Teaching Area

Moonshot Academy has 6,000 square meters as a teaching area with 42 classrooms. In addition to thematic project classrooms and subject classrooms, there are physics labs, chemistry/biology labs, art studios, a small theater, and a makerspace. Learners will complete their coursework, implement projects and hold various community events in the teaching area.

Canteen

The canteen is not only a place for students and faculty to have lunch or dinner together, but also an important open space for activities. Meals will be served in buffet.

Athletic Facility

Moonshot Academy is equipped with a gym and an outdoor sports field. Learners will participate in indoor sports classes such as strength, cardio, and yoga in the gym; the outdoor sports field will host sports like basketball, volleyball, and floorball while Moonshot Academy reserves the resources of surrounding sports venues to accommodate sports events like Frisbee, soccer, and badminton.

Dormitories

Each dormitory can meet the daily study and living needs of four learners and is equipped with an independent bathroom, air conditioning and floor heating system. A study room, water dispenser, microwave oven, washing machine and refrigerator are installed in the public area of the dormitory.

Traditional Activity

Each year, Moonshot Academy will host a number of traditional school activities that serve to build the culture of the Moonshot community. In addition to all Moonshot faculty, staff and learners, parents are also invited to participate in these activities. These traditional school activities are hosted by the school league branch, organized or co-organized by other departments of Moonshot Academy.

Orientation Week

Before the start of the new school year, freshmen will develop relationships with classmates and establish the belonging of the Moonshot community through an immersive camp experience that lasts for 5-6 days, and quickly master the necessary skills and methods for learning and living in Moonshot Academy.

Opening Ceremony

On the first day of the school year, an opening ceremony is held for all learners, faculty, staff and parents. Everyone would think about the life, growth and accomplishment of a new school year and explore the 「real problems」 that all learners and faculty at Moonshot are committed to solving this school year. Also, some learners will be awarded because of their outstanding academic performance and contributions to the community culture.

Moonshot Frisbee Cup

At the beginning of each spring semester, the sports center will organize the Moonshot Frisbee Cup across the school. Six to eight teams consisting of faculty and learners of mixed grades will battle for the championship through nearly 30 rounds of games for 2 months. The frisbee is there, so is Moonshot.

Moonshot Summer and Winter Feast

On Dragon Boat Festival and Winter Solstice Festival, Moonshot parents will prepare a potluck party for the whole community. Every family will share the featured food from their hometown. All community members will gather together to enjoy the feast and to share and learn about regional traditions and culture.

End-of-Term Exhibition

At the end of each semester, each course will show the final works from learners to the whole community in multiple ways. The exhibition will also invite parents and members of the society to witness the growth of learners and give feedback. This is the busiest day in Moonshot Academy. Everyone is shining.

Moonshot Music Festival

This school-wide music festival is held by the Art Center of Moonshot. Talented learners and faculty in the Moonshot community will produce their original music works with the guidance of professional music coaches. They will manifest themselves through music on the stage.

Graduation Ceremony

At the end of each spring semester, a graduation ceremony for 12th-grade learners is celebrated. All faculty members, learners, and parents of graduating learners will participate to reflect on their growth at Moonshot and share commitments to the community. The community will give the best wishes for the future to the graduates.

MSA Family Coaching Day

Moonshot parents and family coaches initiated a platform where they would co-work to explore how to be parents with a coaching mindset. The goal is to benefit more families which aim to be 「fulfilled parents and active, compassionate families」.

Club

Learning is not limited to the classroom. We support learners to create their own clubs to provide more opportunities to explore and develop their interests, as well as to practice leadership, problem-solving skills, and help learners realize the importance of teamwork and different roles through the experience of initiating, preparing, and running a club.

We expect all learners to participate in a club each semester. The first month of each semester is for the clubs to recruit, and learners will be able to reselect a club each semester. Moonshot Academy will provide support in terms of activity resources, venue and operation management.

Social Service

Social Service is a key component in our efforts for learners to apply what they have learned to real-world applications and to learn from the world. Learners will create a more holistic picture of the world, themselves, and how they might apply themselves as "fulfilled individuals and active, compassionate citizens".

Social Service Hours

Each year, Moonshot Academy requires each learner to complete at least 30 hours of certified social service hours, which is one of the graduation requirements. At the same time, Moonshot Academy has established a special award for learners who actively participate in social service and produce outstanding results.

Social Service Program

Social service programs refer to actions or projects which are beneficial to people in need. There are two types of opportunities: inside Moonshot or outside Moonshot. As on-campus projects mainly include teaching assistants, volunteers for large school events or any Moonshot community volunteering projects on their own initiative; the external projects will cooperate with off-campus charity organizations to provide learners with opportunities to participate in volunteer services, and learners can also participate in off-campus charity activities on their own initiative.

Sports and Health

Each learner is free to choose PE classes based on his or her interests and strengths in order to achieve at least 4 learning sessions of physical activity per week. In addition to the regular exercise in class, learners must take three PE tests each semester. Grades of PE courses are based on classroom performance, assessments, and PE test scores.

社区生活

探月社区

温暖、自由、紧密、刚刚好

「探月社区生活构成了环绕在学习者、导师和家庭之间的一个圆环,在这个圆环里,你认识每个人,也被每个人所熟知。共建是探月社区的内核,身在其中也会因环境而改变。你将在温暖、自由、紧密的探月社区生活中,识得与你有着共同理想、爱好,却又个性迥然的终生好友。」

校区介绍

教学区

探月规划了 6000 平方米作为教学区,共有 42 间教室。除了主题项目教室和学科教室,还有物理实验室、化学生物实验室、艺术工作室、小剧场和创客空间等专属场地。学习者们会在教学区完成课业、开展项目和举办各种社区活动。

餐厅

餐厅不仅是师生共同就餐的地方,同时也是很重要的开放活动空间。探月⼀⽇三餐采⽤⾃助餐供应模式。

运动设施

探月配备有健身房和露天运动场。学习者们会在健身房参加力量、有氧、瑜伽等室内体育课程;露天运动场则会进行篮球、排球和旱地冰球等运动;同时探月储备了周边运动场馆的资源,可以满足飞盘、足球、羽毛球等体育赛事。

宿舍区

探月宿舍采用上床下桌的形式,每间宿舍可以满足4位学习者日常自习与生活的需求,均配备了独立卫浴、空调和地暖。宿舍公共区域也有自习室、饮水机、微波炉、洗衣机和冰箱。

校级传统活动

每学年,探月都将举办一些特别的校级大型活动,是探月社区文化建设很重要的部分。除了所有探月教职工和学习者之外,家长也会被邀请参加其中。

新生入校营

开学前新生将通过 5-6 天的沉浸式营地体验完成同学关系和探月社区归属感的建立,快速掌握在探月学习、生活必备的技巧与方法。

开始典礼

学年开学的第一天,举办全校师生、家长共同参与的开始典礼,展望新学年的生活、成长与收获,表彰在学术、项目以及社区文化中有突出成就及贡献的学习者,共同探寻本学年探月全体师生致力于解决的「真实问题」。

探月飞盘杯

每年春季学期初段,体育中心将会举办全校规模的飞盘杯赛事。学习者与老师将会组成 6-8 支跨越年级的队伍。经过近 2 个月、30 场激烈的赛事,我们将会见证冠军的诞生。飞盘在、探月在。

探月夏筵与冬筵

分别在每年端午与冬至这一天,探月学习者家长们将会为全社区准备一顿丰盛的百家饭,每一个家庭都会带来家乡的特色食物,全校成员都将聚集在一起品尝美食、分享与了解不同地域的传统文化与习俗。

期末成果展

在每个学期末,每门课程都会以多元的形式,向全社区成员展示学习者的成果。展览还将邀请家长及社会成员参与,共同见证学习者们的成长并给予反馈。这是探月最热闹的一天,每个人都在发光。

探月音乐节

这是探月的艺术中心,举办的一场全校范围的音乐节。探月社区中,才华横溢的学习者与老师,将在专业音乐导师支持下,完成个人和乐队的原创音乐作品,通过音乐在舞台上尽情表达自我。

成人礼

春季学期末,举办 12 年级学习者的成人礼。全校师生和毕业年级学习者家长共同参与,共同回顾 TA 在探月的成长、及对社区的贡献,一同为 TA 以送去对未来的美好祝愿。

家庭教练日

探月家庭教练日始是探月家长与探月家庭教练共同发起的自我教练和互助教练平台,研习如何成为教练型家长,希望一起影响更多家庭:成为内心丰盈的家长,创造积极行动的家庭。

社团

学习并不局限于课堂,我们支持学习者自主创建社团,提供更多兴趣探索及培养的机会。探月会在活动资源、场地、运营管理等方面提供支持。

我们鼓励所有学习者每个学期都能参加一个社团。每学期第一个月为社团纳新时间,以及每学期都可以重新选择社团。

社会服务

社会服务是学习者和真实世界产生链接的重要途经。学习者可以在实践社会服务的过程中,增进自己对于世界的全方位认知,成为内心丰盈的个体,积极行动的公民。

社会服务时长

探月要求每个学习者每学年至少完成 30 小时的社会服务时长认证,这是探月的毕业要求之一。同时,探月也设立奖项,颁发给在社会服务方面有更多参与和优秀成果的学习者。

社会服务项目

社会服务项目一般分为探月内部和外部两种形式。对于探月内部的项目,主要有助教、学校大型活动志愿者或任何自发的志愿服务探月社区的项目。对于探月外部的项目,探月和校外的公益机构合作,为学习者提供可以参与的志愿服务机会,同时帮助学习者提供志愿服务的意识。学习者也可以自发地参与校外公益活动,并将机会介绍给学校的其他学习者。

运动与健康

每位学习者可以基于自身的兴趣和特长自由选择体育课,以达到至少每周四课时的体育锻炼。除了课堂上的常规锻炼外,学习者每学期必须进行三次体育测试。体育课程成绩以课堂表现、技术考核、体测成绩等作为参考依据。