Development Guidance

Coach System

We believe that a relationship of mutual trust is the key for learners to find a sense of meaning and academic rigor in Moonshot Academy. The coaching system of Moonshot is learner-centered, where learners can establish a meaningful relationship with their personal coaches, get guidance in academic and extracurricular activities, and prepare for life after graduating from high school.

Matching and Communication Mechanism

After learners join Moonshot, they will be matched with a coach based on their personality, strengths and areas of expertise. The coaches are their subject teachers on campus. Several learners work with one coach to form a coaching group. The coaching group meets weekly to advance their growth and learning in multiple areas. When learners encounter any problems or challenges in their academic or non-academic work, they can easily turn to their coach for personal support. 

Coaches Responsibilities

  • Learners can continue to explore their interests based on an accurate perception of themselves.
  • Learners can manage their goals, time and energy;
  • Learners can gain a sense of security, trust and empathy;
  • Learners participate extensively in community activities on and off campus.

These learning objectives are achieved through series coaching classes and activities, which follows learners throughout their high school journey.

Grade Group

Finding a sense of belonging, self-identity and understanding social norms are important tasks for learners in adolescence. In a shift school, the grade group undertakes the above development goals of learners. The grade group is composed of grade leaders and personal coaches.

The role of grade groups

With the assistance of personal coaches, the grade leaders facilitate learners to participate in school-level activities and organize grade activities to enhance the unity of the grade.

 

The grade group also undertakes the task of information exchange. We will ensure that the relevant policies in the school can be transmitted to every learner at the grade meeting effectively. At the end of each semester, parents' meetings will also be organized, in order to communicate with parents about important matters happening in the grade.

Grade meetings

Based on the collective development needs of learners, each grade group will also carry out different types of discussions or lectures at the grade meeting:

Grade 9: school rules, study habits, campus safety knowledge, games, etc.

Grade 10: Community topic discussion, professional interest exploration, defense support, games, etc.

Grade 11: stress and emotion management, social service, games, mental health, etc.

Grade 12: stress and emotion management, college academic preparation, college life preparation, etc.

College Counseling Center

Since learners enter the school, Moonshot Academy will start the college counseling system, so as to ensure that learners can produce a 「list of matching universities」 covering professional interests, social environment, natural environment and other dimensions based on more in-depth self exploration before writing documents, and support each learner to build an application story that respects facts and highlights their own characteristics.

College Counseling Course

The College Counseling Center provides college counseling courses for all MSA learners to address common questions and challenges in their college preparation process. Learners will not only explore their interests and college aspirations in the course, but they will also understand the various factors to be taken into account in the college evaluation process. Students will be able to utilize various methodologies for their college search and take full advantage of resources inside and outside of school. In addition, the college counseling center collaborates with other departments at the school to support learners in multiple aspects, including but not limited to extracurricular activities, planning, and narrative writing guidance.

College Counseling

The College Counseling Center provides individualized guidance to all learners and their parents every semester. The frequency of these counseling sessions increases as grade levels go up in order to address the needs of different learners and families. The center guides learners to develop pathways to college based on their context through course selection, extracurricular activities suggestion, standardized testing timeline recommendation, best-fit school decision, college application material preparation, and so on. Meanwhile, college counselors ensure learners understand the importance of integrity and authenticity in all application materials.

University Outreach and Liaison

The College Counseling Center establishes working relationships with overseas universities through mutual visits, college fairs, professional organizations and conferences to enhance MSA's visibility and recognition among overseas universities. The College Counseling Center promotes conversation between MSA learners and overseas universities, encourages learners to participate in college fairs, and invites admissions officers and current college students to communicate with MSA learners. All MSA learners and families will have the opportunity to interact directly with overseas universities to build an understanding of the programs and admission policies.

Past Acceptance Results

Moonshot Academy is about to have the second year of graduates, with a total of 27 graduates. Until May 8th 2022, there are 99 offer letters from oversea universities, such as Rice University, New York University, Reed College, Imperial College, etc. (offers obtained by different learners respectively). The Admission Results of Graduates

Mental Health

Mental health and social-emotional competency development are important aspects of learners' learning and growth at Moonshot. Learners' mental health is closely integrated personal coaching systems, and moral education and co-building to support and promote the physical and mental health development of all learners.

The Role of Mental Health

The objective of mental health at Moonshot is dedicated to developing all community members, including learners and faculty, to accurately identify, correctly view, and positively respond to different manifestations and phenomena related to mental health. The mental health work focuses on prevention, building resilient and adaptive communities by enhancing learners' mental health awareness and social-emotional competencies early on.

Moonshot Academy adopts a 「zero tolerance」 policy for physical violence, emotional violence, social violence, cyber violence, sexual violence, harassment and all discriminatory behaviors on campus, with the mission of eliminating violence, bullying and inequality on campus and building a harmonious, safe and healthy community environment.

Access to Mental Health Center Services

Mental Health Center offers the following services to members of the community.
  • Provide training and refresher training to learners and staff each semester on campus safety and mental health awareness and response.
  • Provide regular assessment of learners' social-emotional literacy and provision of targeted courses and guidance accordingly.
  • Collaborating with external professional organizations to conduct professional activities and workshops to enhance learners' specific psychology-related skills.
  • Conducting mentor-led psychological community activities to increase mental health knowledge and develop self-awareness and regulation skills.
  • Conducting regular thematic educational activities and research.
  • Providing mental health assessment services in response to community members' needs, generating and analyzing data on social-emotional competencies prior to and during schooling.
  • Maintaining mental health records for all learners and upholding confidentiality.
  • Provide basic one-on-one mental health guidance and advice services.
  • Assist in the referral of community members in need to off-campus professional agencies.

Learners can contact the Mental Health Center at any time during school if they are experiencing discomfort due to a psychological condition.

When learners are uncomfortable due to their psychological situation while at school, the Mental Health Center actively contacts parents, personal coaches and grade leaders to intervene, discuss and develop support plans based on the concept of joint consultation and respectful support.

Confidentiality Pledge

In order for learners to receive the best support, parents of newly enrolled learners must provide the school with accurate records of psychologically related diagnoses and visits, and provide timely feedback to the Mental Health Center on any new conditions and changes. Moonshot Academy does not provide professional counseling or psychotherapy services.

The Mental Health Center maintains the confidentiality of mental health records. The Mental Health Center reserves the right to provide relevant mental health information to teachers, administrators, or relevant law enforcement agencies if personal safety is at stake.

Family-school Communication

Our goal is to build a trusting, warm, and supportive relationship between family and school. Through high-quality communication with parents, courses for parents, and community activities, to form a co-building, life-learning community by learners, parents, and educators.

The Stars Club

In the past four years, more than half of the Moonshot family have carried out very substantial co-building work in teaching activities, admissions, social impact, operation, and logistics support, and family-school relations. Parents also spontaneously established the "Stars Club", a family-school co-building organization guided by clear regulations, aiming to gather parents to jointly build a family-school community with love, openness, inclusiveness, and trust. It is believed that the new family will soon play important roles in the "Stars Club".

Parents Courses

Through in-depth participation in various major activities and parent courses, all parents, co-building and learning together with the Academy, have effectively promoted the relationship with their children and the activity of the Moonshot community. One of the most popular parent courses is the "adolescent class". In the past three years, many families in Moonshot have bravely explored new modes of parent-child communication, diligently expanded the psychological distance with their children, and created many lovely family stories of improving parent-child relations. In addition, a variety of family classes, such as "college counseling family story meeting", "philosophical journey", "family self-awareness class" and "Moonshot family history program", help parents narrow the ideological distance with their children, deeply sort out their life stories and the relationship with their children, parents and the world, so as to complete in-depth self-identity.

Parents' Meeting

During the mid-term of each semester, the school will arrange a formal meeting between parents and teachers. Parents and teachers can discuss learners' academic progress and physical and mental state. We encourage parents to invite learners to participate in communication which will discuss learning experiences and agree on action plans. At the end of the semester, the parents' meeting is mainly in the form of grade meeting. We strongly recommend that parents and learners maintain sincere interaction and communication during the semester to understand learners' learning interests and physical and mental state, which is very important for individual growth in adolescence.

 

If parents have any concerns or questions besides the meeting time arranged by the school, please contact the learner's personal coach. If the discussion with the personal coach cannot solve the problem, we suggest that parents seek help from the learner's grade leader.

Defense System

In competency based education, defense system supports learners to authentically present their phased learning achievements, summarizes and reviews their learning development, which is a very important academic activity in each academic year.

Defense System

Moonshot Academy is committed to competency based education with competency development at its core and aims to support our graduates to succeed in college, future careers, and life. As such, all Moonshot Academy graduates are required to have a complete learner graduation portfolio, which consists of a series of pieces of work produced by the learner during their learning experience at Moonshot. This portfolio includes textual analysis, argumentative writing, exploration report, creative expression, and summaries of the learners' exploration of their learning and development at each stage of their academic courses and projects based on performance-based assessment.

 

Each spring semester, Moonshot Academy conducts a competency defense for all learners. It is a very important academic activity for both Moonshot and all learners in each academic year.

 

It encourages learners to accumulate their works in their portfolios at each grade level, provide a vivid representation of each learner's learning outcomes, and systematically demonstrate how much they have achieved at each grade level. At the same time, the specific format of the defense can effectively deepen learners' reflection on their learning outcomes and self-growth, and significantly help learners win others' trust through a presentation.

 

A quality defense also provides an opportunity for all teachers to share a common understanding of the expectations and requirements of expressive assessment and to calibrate the rubrics for evaluating learners among themselves.

Defense timeline

  • Grade 9 learners complete their project presentations and observe the senior learners' responses.
  • Grade 10 learners complete the Track defense and clarify their professional development at the senior level.
  • Grade 11 learners complete the Target defense to clarify their options for the next stage of the college application.
  • Grade 12 learners complete the Moonshot defense and are approved to graduate.

发展指导

教练制

我们相信,一段互相信任的关系是学习者在探月找到意义感和学术严谨性的关键。探月的教练制以学习者为中心,在此学习者可以与个人教练建立有意义的关系,在学术和课外活动中得到指导,并为高中毕业后的生活做好准备。

匹配及沟通机制

学习者入学后,探月将根据他们的性格,匹配与学习者的优势和擅长领域契合的个人教练。探月的个人教练从学科教师中选拔而出。几位学习者和一位教练组成一个教练组,每周召开一次教练会议,跟进并支持学习者的学术发展和个人成长。学习者在探月遇到任何问题或挑战,他们都可以及时地向个人教练寻求支持。

负责的四个领域

  • 学习者可以在准确认知自己的基础上不断探索个人志趣;
  • 学习者可以管理自己的目标、时间和精力;
  • 学习者可以获得安全感、信任和共情;
  • 学习者广泛参与校内外的社会实践活动。


上述学习目标是通过一系列的教练课程和活动实现的,这些活动将伴随他们整个高中生涯。

年级组

寻找归属感、认同自我和懂得社会规范是学习者在青春期发展阶段的重要任务。在一个走班制的学校,年级组承担着这些学习者的发展目标。年级组由年级组长和个人教练共同组成。

年级组的作用

在个人教练的协助之下,年级组长要带领学习者参与校级活动、组织年级活动,增强年级的凝聚力。年级组也承担着信息沟通的任务,我们会在年级会上,确保学校内的相关政策能够及时有效的传递给每一名学习者。每个期中和期末,也会组织家长会,与家长们沟通年级内正在发生的重要事项。

年级会

各个年级组,基于学习者集体的发展需求,也会在年级会上开展不同类型的讨论或讲座:

  • 9年级:学校规则、学习习惯、校园安全常识、运动会等
  • 10年级:社区议题讨论、专业志趣探索、答辩支持、运动会等
  • 11年级:压力情绪管理、社会服务、运动会、心理健康等
  • 12年级:压力情绪管理、大学学术准备、大学生活准备等

升学指导

探月从学习者入学当年就启动逻辑严谨、层层递进的升学指导体系,确保学习者能够基于较为深入的自我探索,在撰写文书前,产出涵盖专业兴趣、社交环境、自然环境等维度考量的「匹配大学清单」,并支持每一位学习者构建尊重事实的、最能突出自身特质的申请故事。

升学指导课程

升学指导中心根据不同年级升学需求,提供相应的升学指导课程。帮助学习者解决升学过程中的共性问题、支持学习者探索自我及海外大学、了解海外大学选拔申请者所参考的因素,从而掌握寻找匹配院校的具体方法,并合理利用校内外资源助力升学。同时,升学指导课会和学校其他部门共同合作,支持学习者在探月的活动规划以及指导后续的叙述性文书。

升学指导咨询

升学中心每学期为学习者以及家长提供针对性的指导。指导的频率随着年级的增长而逐渐递增,以确保满足学习者以及家庭的合理需求。在咨询中,升学指导中心会指导学习者根据自身的情况个性化规划自己的升学路径,包括:选课推荐、校内外活动规划、考试时间线推荐、匹配大学的选定、申请材料的准备以及指导等。同时,我们会引导学习者秉持诚信的态度,确保材料的真实性。

对外大学联络

升学中心通过与海外大学互访,组织和参与大学展会,通过参加专业组织与会议等方式与海外大学建立联系,提升探月在海外院校中的知名度及认可度。升学中心定期组织学习者与海外大学交流、参与线上线下大学展会、根据学习者的大学志向邀请大学招生官及在读学生进行专场分享。确保学习者与家庭获得与海外大学直接交流的机会,深入了解每所大学的特质和最新招生动向。

过往录取结果

探月即将迎来第二届毕业生,两届毕业生共计 27 人,截止2022年5月8日,共获得 99 份来自欧美大学的录取信,如莱斯大学、纽约大学、里德学院、帝国理工学院等(分别由不同学习者所获得)。毕业生录取结果

心理健康

心理健康与社会情感能力发展是探月学习者学习与成长的重要环节。在学习者发展指导中,心理健康紧密结合个人教练体系和德育与共建,支持和促进全体学习者的身心健康发展。

心理中心的工作

在探月,心理咨询已经在成为一种普遍的解决问题、探索自我、促进个体成长的方式。心理咨询是一种排解焦虑、放松自己的措施,适用于帮助每一个遇到了困惑、迷茫、挑战或痛苦的学习者了解自己,认识自己的情绪、认知和行为特点,并改善自己的生活、社交、学业、情绪感受以及应对未来挑战的能力。

探月的心理健康工作致力于培养包括学习者与教职人员在内的全体社区人员准确识别、正确看待、正向应对心理健康相关的不同表现和现象。心理健康工作以预防为主,通过及早提升学习者心理健康认知和社会情感能力,构建具备适应性和回弹性的成长型社区。

探月对校园中的身体暴力、情绪暴力、社交暴力、网络暴力、性暴力、骚扰和一切歧视行为采取「零容忍」政策,以消除校园暴力、霸凌和不平等现象为己任,建设和谐安全健康的社区环境。

获取心理中心的支持

心理中心面向社区成员提供以下支持:
  • 每学期针对校园安全与心理健康认知与应对,向学习者与教职工提供培训和复训;
  • 定期测评学习者的社会情感素养,并据此提供针对性课程与指导;
  • 与外部专业机构合作,开展专业活动与工作坊,提升学习者专项心理相关技能;
  • 开展有导师带领的心理社团活动,增加心理健康知识,发展自我认知与调节技能;
  • 定期开展主题教育活动与调研;
  • 应社区成员需求,提供心理健康评估服务,产生并分析入学前与在学过程中的社会情感能力数据;
  • 保管全体学习者的心理健康档案,并坚守保密原则;
  • 提供基本的一对一心理健康指导与建议服务;
  • 帮助有需要的社区成员转介至校外专业机构。

学习者在校期间如有心理情况引起的不适,任何时间均可联系心理中心。

学习者在校期间因心理情况引起的不适,心理中心本着共同商议、尊重支持的理念,积极联系家长、个人教练和年级长进行干预,商讨和制定支持计划。

保密承诺

为了使学习者获得最好的支持,新入学的学习者家长必须向学校提供准确的心理相关的诊断和就诊记录,并及时向心理中心反馈任何新的情况与变化。探月社区不提供专业的心理咨询和心理治疗服务。

心理中心对心理健康记录保密。如果事关人身安全,心理中心有权把相关心理健康信息提供给教师、管理人员或相关执法部门。

家校沟通

我们的目标是「构建信任、温暖、彼此支持和成就的家校关系」,通过与家长高质量多维度的沟通、丰富的家长课程及社区活动,形成一个由学习者、家长和教育者共建的、持续进化的学习型社区。

繁星荟

在过去四年里,一半以上的探月家庭在跨学科项目及其他教学活动、招生与社会影响力、运营与后勤保障、家校关系等各个方面进行了非常实质性的共建工作。家人们还自发成立了有清晰章程指导的家校共建组织——「繁星荟」,旨在汇聚家长们的智慧与资源,共同打造相亲相爱、开放包容、互信合作的家校社区。相信新家人们也会很快地成为“繁星荟”的中坚力量。

家长课程

探月与全体家长「共建」、「共学」,通过深度参与各类重大活动和家长课程,有效促进了亲子关系的融洽度和探月社区的活跃度。其中最受欢迎的是「青春期心课堂」,在过去三年中,很多探月的家人们都在这个课堂上,勇敢探索亲子沟通的新模式,用心拓展彼此舒适的心空间,创造出了很多亲子关系提升的美好家庭故事。另外,「升学家庭故事会」、「哲思之旅」、「家庭自我认知课」、「探月家庭家史计划」等多种多样的家庭课堂,帮助家长拉近与孩子在思想上的距离,深入梳理个人生命故事,与子女、与父母、与世界的关系,从而完成深度的自我认同。

家长会

每个学期的期中,学校会安排一次正式的家长与教师会面。家长和教师能够就学习者学业进展和身心状态进行探讨。我们鼓励家长邀请学习者也加入沟通,共同讨论学习经验和商定行动计划。学期期末,家长会则以年级会为主要形式。我们强烈建议家长与学习者在学期中保持真诚互动和沟通,了解学习者的学习兴趣和身心状态,这对于青春期的个体成长十分重要。

在学校安排的家长与教师会面时间之外,家长存在任何顾虑和疑问时,请与学习者的个人教练首先联络讨论事项。如果与个人教练的讨论无法解决问题,我们建议家长向学习者的年级组长寻求帮助。