Division of Chinese Studies

Division of Chinese Studies offers 6 courses based on National Chinese Curriculum Standards (NCCS), including 2 complusory courses and 4 electives.

(Compulsory course has taged "*")

Core Value and Beliefs

Chinese studies provide learners with a comprehensive and profound perspective into Chinese culture, language and literature. By guiding students through various ancient and contemporary texts, we aim to develop learners' Chinese literacy skills and cultural awareness. By affirming their civic identity, we hope to provide a solid ground for their future venture into the world as global citizens. 

Objectives

We are committed to cultivating students' competency in the following three dimensions: "empathy with the surroundings, ability of in-deepth analysis, and literature carrying Tao".
  • Empathy with the surroundings: "taking things as I do", the ability of getting connection and being empathy with the world;
  • Ability of in-deepth analysis: in-depth analysis and exploration based on real objective evidence;
  • Literature carries Tao: feel the beauty of literature and quickly obtain information through reading; Express thoughts effectively through writing.

CHIN1001:Liberal Arts in Chinese History and Literature*

This is a fundamental course to guide learners through Chinese historical and literary texts to enhance their understandings of Chinese culture while improving their literacy skills at the same time. From the works of pre-Qin philosophers to contemporary literature, learners will be encouraged to integrate various sources of information with a critical perspective to develop deeper insights into culture, history and society.

MSAF9001: Introduction to the History of Chinese Culture*

During the one-year course, learners will be exposed to Chinese history that focuses on culture and thought, and read important historical documents and classics, especially 《The Book of Poetry》,《The Analects of Confucius》,《The Book of Rites》, 《The HistoricalRecords》,《Laozi》,《Zhuangzi》,《Mozi》,《Mencius》, 《Xunzi》, 《Guanzi》,《Shangjun book》,《Han Feizi》 and other works. They will practice applying first-hand information while avoiding the misleading of second-hand information and the interference of modern western values by learning from the ancient books.

CHIN2001: Fundamental Chinese Language and Literature: The Written World

This is a fundamental course to support learners through a close reading of selected ancient and modern Oriental works. With an attentive focus on the expressions of poems, proses, novels and plays, learners will appreciate the artwork from the perspectives of language, conception, image and emotion and familiarize themselves with creative intentions and aesthetic experiences. Through developing a habit of writing reading notes, reviews and essays, learners will become skilled writers with unique voices to express.

CHIN3001: Chinese Contemporary Literature

This is an advanced course to immerse learners in a wide range of contemporary Chinese writers and their works. In this course, we will read canonical texts from Lu Xun, Ba Jin, Lao She, etc. and probe into their core values and beliefs. Effective reading and writing competencies are reinforced throughout the course. 

CHIN3006: Radio and Cassette Listening: History of East Asian popular music after WWII

In this course, learners can not only learn a large number of world history and East Asian history after World War II, but also understand the basic historical literature / data collection, screening and analysis techniques, so as to support learners to complete basic independent historical investigation and writing. Moreover, learners have opportunities to hear countless old music carrying the past time, as well as the latest cutting-edge information of sound studies in the academic community.

CHIN3007: Nonfiction Writing

In general, nonfiction writing refers to all writing based on reality and drawing on literary techniques to render the works more narratively beautiful and artistic. Based on the two dimensions of authenticity and literature, this introductory course will expose learners to learning the basic concepts of news and practice fragment writing. After completing the introduction, learners will officially enter the practical stage of nonfiction writing. Each learner will determine one's own topic, from interview to writing, and complete a nonfictional writing piece at the end of the class.

中国研究学部

中国研究学部以中国高中新课标(NCCS)为主轴,融合古代现代经典汉语言文学与思想作品,一共开设2门必修课、4门选修课,共6门课程。

(必修课以“*”号标注)

核心价值观

中国研究学部为学习者提供全面且深入的中国文化与汉语言文学课程,旨在发展学习者中文听说读写能力、培养文化意识,并支持学生的终身发展。学部课程通过引导学习者阅读与探究多元化的古代以及现当代经典文本,着重培养学习者对中国语言和文化思想的理解与热爱、提升学习者对汉语言文学与思想的学习与研究兴趣,加强国民身份认同感,为他们将来走入国际社会提供坚实的基础。

能力培养目标

我们致力于培养学生在以下三个维度的能力与素养:“切己体察、事上琢磨、文以载道”。

  • 切己体察:“以我就事”的连接能力和“以事就我”的共情能力;
  • 事上琢磨:基于客观事实证据进行深度分析与探究;
  • 文以载道:通过阅读感受文学之美、快速获取信息;通过写作有效表达自己的思想。

CHIN1001:中国文史博雅课*

这是一门引导学习者系统学习中国历史和文学思想文本的基础课程,以加强他们对中国文化的理解,同时提高汉语读写能力。从先秦哲学家的作品到当代文学作品,这门课鼓励学习者以批判的眼光整合各种信息来源,对文化、历史和社会提出更深刻的见解。

MSAF9001: 中国文化史导论*

在为期一年的课程中,学习者会接触到偏重文化思想方面的中国史,直接阅读重要的历史文献与经典,特别是《诗经》、《论语》、《礼记》、《史记》以及《老子》、《庄子》、《墨子》、《孟子》、《荀子》、《管子》、《商君书》、《韩非子》等诸子著作。练习掌握一手资料,避免二手资讯的误导,与现代西方价值的干扰,学习面对古籍,直接与古人对话。

CHIN2001: 中国语言与文学基础:文字的力量

这是一门支持学习者阅读古代和现代东方作品的基本课程。通过专注于诗歌、散文、小说和戏剧的表达,学习者将从语言、构思、形象和情感的角度欣赏作品,并熟悉创作意图和审美体验。通过养成写读书笔记、评论和随笔的习惯,学习者将成为具有独特观点的熟练写作者。

CHIN3001: 现当代中国文学作品选读

作为汉语言文学的萌芽与巅峰时期,现当代文学对于学习汉语语言与文化有着至关重要的意义。在这门课中,我们会共读现当代重要作家的经典作品,探究主旨意涵,感受形象、品味语言、体验情感,提升文学欣赏能力。鲁迅、茅盾、巴金、老舍…… 欢迎进入现当代文学的世界。

CHIN3006: 历史——无线电与磁带的时代:二战后的东亚社会及流行音乐

本课将以东亚三国(中日韩)的二战后的现代流行音乐作为探究对象,主要讨论覆盖在中国现代流行乐变迁下的:东西文化交流,东亚内的文化交互,冷战文化外交,东亚音乐社会生活、音乐载体的变迁与人们对听觉认知的变化。在这门课上,学习者不仅可以学习到大量二战后的世界历史、东亚地区历史,还可以了解到基本的历史文献/数据之收集、甄别、分析技法,支持学习者完成基础的历史独立调查与写作。

CHIN3007: 非虚构写作

广义上的非虚构写作是指一切基于真实的写作,借鉴文学的手法,使作品更具叙事美感和艺术性。本门课程基于真实性和文学性两个维度入门中文非虚构写作。老师将会带领学习者学习新闻基本概念,并进行片段写作练习。在完成入门后,学习者将正式进入非虚构写作的实操阶段。每位学习者确定选题,从采访到写作,最终在结课时完成一篇非虚构写作作品。