Division of English and Humanities

Division of English and Humanities offers 12 courses based on National Chinese Curriculum Standards (NCCS), Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and Advanced Placement (AP), three of which are AP certified.


Humanities education provides an integral foundation in a complete education. The ability to think, express, and explore are built on language, knowledge, concepts, and skills through disciplines of language, literature, history, philosophy, and arts. The study of humanities teaches learners ways to interpret texts, assess sources, make value judgments, and form and analyze arguments. Written expression enables learners to share their ideas as part of the 「Great Conversation」 — the dialectic and dialogue of human growth and development through the engagement of human thinking. Language is the creator and conveyer of beauty, and, through writing, this aesthetic experience is endowed to future generations. Ultimately, the integration of the Humanities curriculum into classes at Moonshot Academy with exhaustive learning of these key skills and knowledge will allow learners to, in Maslow's words, 「self-actualize」or to become 「fulfilled individuals and active, compassionate citizens」 as the school motto of Moonshot Academy.


As an integral part of human development, we emphasize step-by-step language learning as a tool to explore the cultural inheritance of humanity, to collaborate as a global citizen, and to present ideas and art that can change the world. We recognize the value of Mandarin as our students' native language with its natural access to cultural treasures and English as a medium to bridge learners to the rich context of Western Tradition. As the global language of education, business, science, and technology, English facilitates learners' abilities to thrive in the modern world.


Literature allows learners to imagine a world of possibilities. Cultivating the faculty of imagination enables us to see things with the mind's eye that we can then work to build. The ability to empathize with others' feelings and see the world through their eyes—a competency inherent to great literature—is an essential part of being human and improving our society. Poetry, plays, and stories give us forms to understand the heart as well as the mind.


History allows us to understand our collective experience as human beings. Through historical inquiries, we learn that human societies move through cycles. But we also learn that agency is key in molding human activity. This course highlights the power of individual decisions and the ways that individual choices aggregate collectively into our shared human experience. Knowing how the past informs the present and allows us to evaluate future possibilities and pitfalls is prioritized than focusing solely on the memorization of facts and dates. History courses, including World History, US History, History of Mathematics, Asian Studies, and Human Geography, provide learners with deeply enriching content as well as opportunities to develop the appreciation of the history, an invaluable skill encompassing critical thinking, inquiry & research, analysis & synthesis, and argumentation.


Philosophy inspires learners in a thoughtful exploration of the human mind. We value the ability to develop the innate capacities to connect, reflect, and analyze are developed through thought exercises. The course is committed to fostering an ethical perception of the world through reflecting on our place in the universe. It is hoped that as we inform learners of important concepts such as justice, truth, and being, they will gain a greater understanding of the limitations as well as possibilities of human beings. As a Moonshot Featured Course, Western Philosophy is a required credit for all MSA learners.

Core Beliefs

At Moonshot Academy, we believe students are life-long learners who will excel with the freedom and support to pursue their own passions.

 

We promote learners' development in reading, writing, vocabulary, and grammar/mechanics with the adaptive learning program IXL as a part of our blended learning approach. This comprehensive online curriculum offers learners individualized instruction and practice according to their own level and pace. We use IXL's high-quality analytics to inform our teaching and offer targeted, personalized learning experiences aligned with Common Core standards and deeper learning of 21st-century competencies. At the same time, we provide systematic and individualized grammar classes through the employment of Grammar in Use (Cambridge) series throughout ESL to ELA4 to better support learners' mastery of necessary grammar and mechanics.


Through project-based learning, learners will apply and extend knowledge in a process of deeper learning. Rooted in the essential knowledge, skills, and dispositions, these projects are often hands-on, collaborative, and interdisciplinary platforms for learners to present and celebrate their learning. 

ENGL 1000: ESL Foundations

This course is designed to support the foundational language skills for novice English language learners. With a focus on the basics—vocabulary, grammar, and mechanics—learners will have the opportunity to receive instruction and additional practice in reading, writing, speaking, and listening. This course offers supplementary instruction in English as a second language for learners who need additional support beyond ELA1 course.

ENGL 1001: ELA1 (Introductory Level)

This class is designed for learners to build basic English language skills (reading, writing, listening, speaking). It also introduces learners to the fundamental concepts of literary studies. In this course, narrative writing skills and argumentative writing skills will be focused on scaffold learners telling their own personal stories as well as addressing their own opinions with strong arguments. Speeches, books, and films will be applied to hone learners' speaking and presenting skills. The aim of this course is to guide learners' development of expressing their own using basic English appropriately by reading and imitating different genres of texts.

ENGL 2001: ELA2 (Intermediate Level)

This intermediate-level course is designed to develop learners' English language skills (reading, writing, speaking, and listening) through engaging and complex units of study. This year's course is designed around the themes of past, present, and future. Learners will read a variety of fiction and non-fiction texts, engage in discussions and debates, and learn to effectively communicate ideas in writing from personal, informal journaling to rigorous academic essays. Each unit integrates reading and writing with digital tools, multimedia, and fine & performing arts. Learners will have multiple opportunities to deliver presentations and performances. This course contains a blended learning component, IXL, which allows learners to work at their own level and pace through a comprehensive online curriculum. This course will culminate with a major PBL performance and a portfolio of student writings.

ENGL 3001: ELA3 (Advanced Level)

Chinese Identity is an advanced ELA course designed for learners working on their higher English language and literature knowledge and skills through the study of works of literature and advanced writing exercises. This course delves into literature representing the immigrant life of Chinese Americans, the culture and struggle of Chinese people, and Chinese identity. Based on this context, this course explores the literature of varied genres, including The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan, How To American by Jimmy O Yang, My Country and My People by Lin Yutang, and Poetry written by various authors. By exploring these literature works, we hope students can think critically of their own Chinese identity and its stability. A close reading of texts and the development of critical thinking will be key skills in developing students' language and argumentation ability in this course. Meanwhile, the experiential learning part will add color to the deep conversation between literature and humanity.

ENGL 5005: ELA4

Our new ELA 4 Higher Level Literature class is designed for students who are looking for an opportunity to explore literature from around the world at an advanced level. Over the course of the year, we'll cast a large net: in terms of literary genres we'll look at novels and novellas, as well as units on drama, poetry, and a range of literary-nonfiction texts. Through a comparative and thematic approach, we'll look at literature from a diverse range of cultures including Turkey, Japan, Russia, Ireland, and England. Temporally, these works will range from the 17th century to contemporary works published as late as 2020.


ELA 4 will give students front-row seats for insights into how people think and experience the world. It will expand our imaginative and emotional vocabularies, and it will give us reference points for understanding the people around us. Academically, students taking this course will become more sensitive and articulate writers and more perceptive readers, and these skills will transfer into and support learning in other academic disciplines and help make for a smooth transition into university.

PHIL 1001: Practical Philosophy

The Battle of Ideas is an introductory course of western philosophy focusing on important topics of human existence, like freedom, justice, happiness and love, etc. The course will adopt a practical approach that brings philosophical knowledge and skills into everyday life, and connect with social/community issues and personal challenges. Learners will think independently and together with the group, explore different perspectives and find their own answers to these important questions for life. Learners will be introduced to thoughts from the greatest thinkers and make connections with their own experiences and knowledge. In addition, learners will discover more about their own thinking mechanism and examine their ideas during group inquiry. This course will focus on competencies including critical thinking skills, oral and writing communication skills, social and emotional skills, civic and self-awareness. This course will shed light on the great ancient greet wisdom of "know yourself" and "an unexamined life is not worth living."

ENGL 2002: Introduction to Creative Writing

Introduction to Creative Writing is an intermediate English course focusing on English creative composition and contemporary literature. Through the exploration of students' own life and the varied lives around them, we hope that they can build up a unique identity profile. Meanwhile, the exposure to different contemporary literature and writing genres will offer an opportunity to find a distinct way to express themselves. The competencies of this course involve oral interaction, creative writing, aesthetic appreciation, and self-awareness. The immersive English environment of this course will also strengthen students' language abilities through reading, listening, writing, and speaking. The final artifact of this course will be one or more collections of your own masterpieces and all the money earned by selling them may be your first barrel of gold in the writing field.

ENGL 5002: AP Advanced Creative Writing

Advanced Creative Writing: Fiction is an advanced English course focusing on English creative composition and contemporary fiction. Through exploring different genres of fiction, learners will be able to explore the uniqueness of each one of them to choose and create their own. The immersive English environment of this course will also sharpen learners' language abilities through reading and listening to writing and speaking. The final artifact of this course will be one or more collections of their own fiction masterpiece and will be edited and printed out as a whole class. If learners are interested in exploring various writing styles of fiction, making connections to their own world, and improving their English skills at the same time, then this is the course for them.

WHIS 5001: AP World History

In World History, students will investigate historical events, figures, developments, and processes from 1200 to the present. Students will develop and use the same skills, practices, and methods employed by historians: analyzing primary and secondary sources, developing arguments, making historical connections, and applying reasoning skills on comparison, causation, and continuity and change over time. The course provides six themes that students explore throughout the course in order to make connections among historical developments in different times and places: humans and the environment, cultural developments and interactions, governance, economic systems, social interactions and organization, and technology and innovation.

POLI4001: Comparative Politics

Francis Yoshihiro Fukuyama, a political scientist, has said that: "people who only understand one country don't understand any country". This saying conveys that in order to understand what is happening in the world nowadays, we have to gain the comparative thinking method to broaden and deepen our knowledge. Comparative politics is not only a method of study but also a field of study. We will together delve into the questions such as: why did Arab spring happen? Why is Afghanistan a "failed" country? Why did democratization fail to succeed in Nigeria but succeed in other countries? Those questions are important for comparativists and salient for us to understand world politics nowadays. Therefore, in this class, through exploring the various themes of comparative politics, you are going to not only understand the current world politics but also gain the comparative thinking method that is conducive to your problem analysis skills.

ENGL 5003: Academic Writing

Academic Writing is a year-long course in reading and writing designed to teach students how to write for academic purposes, critical analysis, and argumentation. It is designed to improve learners' critical reading, writing, and thinking skills, which they can apply to further college writing classes and other disciplinary courses. Small group work and discussion, peer editing, class discussions, lectures, and in-class writing exercises will constitute the majority of the class time here.

ENGL 5004: AP English Language and Composition

The AP English Language & Composition course cultivates the reading and writing skills that learners need for college success and for intellectually responsible civic engagement. The course guides learners in becoming curious, critical, and responsive readers of diverse texts and becoming flexible, reflective writers of texts addressed to diverse audiences for diverse purposes. The reading and writing learners do in the course will deepen and expand their understanding of how written language functions rhetorically: to communicate writers’ intentions and elicit readers' responses in particular situations.


The AP English Language & Composition course focuses on the development and revision of evidence-based analytic and argumentative writing, the rhetorical analysis of nonfiction texts, and the decisions writers make as they compose and revise. Learners evaluate, synthesize, and cite research to support their arguments. Additionally, they read and analyze rhetorical elements and their effects in nonfiction texts—including images as forms of text— from a range of disciplines and historical periods. Throughout the course, learners will follow the pattern of reading others' arguments and then writing their own. Learners will analyze what makes others' arguments convincing or confusing, engaging or dull, persuasive or powerless. They will then turn to the act of composition themselves, seeking to emulate effective argumentation they have encountered in their reading and analysis.

英语和人文学部

英语和人文学部以中国新课标为主轴,结合共同核心标准课程(CCSS)和美国大学预备先修课程(AP),共开设12门课程,其中3门为AP认证课。

人文教育为一套完善的教育体系提供了不可或缺的基础。思考、表达和探索的能力是通过语言、文学、历史、哲学和艺术等学科建立在语言、知识、概念和技能上的。对人文的学习会传授给学习者解释文本、评估信息来源、做出价值判断以及形成和分析论点的方法。书面表达使学习者能够交流想法,运用批判性思维,形成与人类发展成长相关的对话。语言是美的创造者和传递者。可以通过文学和写作,将这种审美体验传达给读者。探月将人文课程纳入课堂,通过详尽地学习这些关键技能和知识,使得学习者通往马斯洛所说的「自我实现」,或者成为探月所培养的「内心丰盈的个体,积极行动的公民」。

作为人类发展的一个组成部分,我们强调循序渐进的语言学习,还将其作为探索人类文化遗产的工具,为的是能够与全球公民进行合作,并提出能够改变世界的想法和文学作品。我们认识到中文作为我们学习者母语的价值,它可以自然地接触到中华民族自身的文化宝藏,而英语则为学习者接触大量西方文化架起了桥梁。作为教育、商业、科学和技术的全球通用语言,英语学习会促进学习者在现代世界中茁壮成长。

 文学使学习者能够想象一个充满可能性的世界。培养想象力能让我们用心灵的眼睛看到其他事物,并努力建设它们。对他人的感同身受和透过他人的眼睛看世界的能力——伟大的文学作品所固有的特点——是作为人类和改善社会的一个重要部分。诗歌、戏剧和故事为我们提供了了解心灵和思想的窗口。

 历史让学习者能够理解我们作为人类的集体经历。通过对历史的探究,我们了解到人类社会的发展是有周期的。但我们也了解到,每个主体本身是塑造人类活动的关键。这些课程强调了个体决策的力量,以及个人选择是如何汇聚成我们人类共同的经验。了解过去如何影响现在并使我们能够评估未来的可能性和隐患,这比仅仅关注、背诵事实和日期更重要。包括世界历史、亚洲研究和人文地理在内的课程为学习者提供了深入丰富的内容和发展历史鉴赏力的机会,这是一种包含批判性思维、调查、研究、分析、总结和论证的宝贵技能。

 哲学能激发学习者对人类思想的探索。我们重视通过思考练习来训练连接、反思和分析的能力。该课程致力于通过反思我们在宇宙中的位置来培养对世界的道德认知,希望在我们告知学习者诸如正义、真理和存在等重要概念的同时,他们能对人类的局限性以及可能性有更多的了解。作为一门探月荣誉课程,西方哲学是所有探月学习者的必修课程。

核心理念

在探月,我们相信大家是终身学习者,在自由和追求热爱的支持下,他们会表现出色。

我们通过适应性学习平台IXL来促进学习者在阅读、写作、词汇和语法方面的发展,以此作为我们混合学习方法的一部分。这个全面的在线课程为学习者提供个性化的指导,根据他们自己的水平和进度进行练习。我们使用IXL的高质量分析为教学提供信息,并提供有针对性且个性化的学习经验。同时,通过在整个ESL到ELA4中采用Grammar in Use(剑桥)系列,提供系统化和个性化的语法课程,以更好地支持学习者掌握必要的语法和结构。

通过项目制学习,学习者将在深入学习的过程中应用和扩展知识。这些项目植根于基础知识、技能和态度,通常是学习者展示和庆祝他们的学习实践、协作和跨学科的平台。

ENGL 1000: 英语基础课程

这门课程是探月英语的基础课。课程的重点将在词汇、语法、阅读、听力、口语表达等基础英语语言技能和素养上。本课程是对英语1(入门级)课程的补充。

通过学习《Impact one》一书,学习者将练习精读技巧,并了解如何通过文字和世界互动。ESL课程还为学习者提供各种机会来练习听力,日常口语技巧及口头表达能力。对于写作部分,ESL还将为学习者提供写作研讨会,以帮助他们理解学术写作并修改他们的ELA1论文。

对于这门课的作业,学习者会通过例如设计一张关于在黑暗中发光的动物或植物的海报,以及制作一个创造性的"昼夜"视频来完成这门课的学习。

ENGL 1001: 英语语言艺术1 (初阶)

本课程旨在为学习者建立基本的英语语言技能(读、写、听、说),并向学习者介绍文学研究的基本概念。在这门课程中,说明性和议论性写作技巧将作为重点,以“脚手架”的方式帮助学习者有效地描述、解释事物,以及用有力的论据表达自己的观点。演讲、书籍和电影将被用于训练学习者的口头表达和演讲技能。本课程的目的是引导学习者通过阅读和模仿不同类型的文章,适当地使用基本的英语表达自己的想法。

ENGL 2001: 英语语言艺术2(中阶)

这门中阶英语课程旨在通过复杂却引人入胜的单元式学习来发展学习者阅读、写作、口语和听力的英语语言技能。今年的课程是围绕「过去、现在和未来」的主题设计的。

学习者将会阅读各种虚构和非虚构的文本,参与讨论和辩论,学习写作日记随笔、以及严谨的学术论文,以此有效地交流思想。在学习每个单元的时候,老师们都有意将阅读、写作,与数字工具、多媒体、美术和表演艺术相结合。本课程包含一个混合学习部分,即IXL。它允许学习者通过一个全面的在线课程,以自己的水平和速度安排学习。

这门课程将以一个主要的PBL表演和一个学习者作品集作为最终产出。

ENGL 3001: 英语语言艺术3(高阶)

这是一门高阶英语语言文学课程,旨在通过学习文学作品和高阶写作练习来提高学习者的高阶英语语言文学知识和技能。本课程专注于理解“中国人的身份”,通过深入研究代表美国华人的移民生活、中国人的文化、斗争和中国人身份认同的文学作品学习。基于这一背景,本课程探讨了不同类型的文学作品,包括谭恩美的《喜福会》、欧阳万成的《如何做美国人》、林语堂的《吾国与吾民》以及不同作家的诗歌。通过对这些文学作品的探索,我们希望学习者能够对自己的中国身份及其稳定性进行批判性思考。文本精度和发展批判性思维将会是学习者在这门课程中重点发展的能力。同时,体验式学习将为关于文学和人类的深度对话增添色彩。

ENGL 5005: 英语语言艺术4

这是一门高阶文学课,面对那些希望有机会在更高水平探索世界各地文学的学习者而设计。在这一年里,我们将撒下一张大网:在文学体裁方面,将研究小说和长篇小说,以及戏剧、诗歌和一系列文学-非虚构文本的单元。通过比较法和主题法,我们将研究来自不同文化的文学作品,包括土耳其、日本、俄罗斯、爱尔兰和英国。在时间上跨度上,这些作品涵盖从17世纪到2020年出版的当代作品。

 ELA 4将为学习者深入了解人们如何思考和体验这个世界提供踏板,扩大想象力和情感词汇,并为理解周围的人提供参考。在学术上,学习这门课程的学习者将成为更敏感、更善于表达的作家和更敏锐的读者,这些技能将迁移到其他学科学习中,并为其顺利过渡到大学提供支持。

PHIL 1001: 应用哲学

在这门西方应用哲学入门课程中,学习者将思考人生中的重要话题,如自由、正义、爱和幸福,并寻找自己的答案。将古往今来思想家们的不同观点作为启发,唤醒仅凭个人能力无法获得的多元视角。在集体探究中,清晰有力的表达自己的观点和想法并重新检验它们,因为“未经审视的人生是不值得过的-苏格拉底”。

这将是一次哲思英雄成长之旅,学习者将体验哲学诞生之初的魅力和思考的乐趣,在面对挑战的过程中不断升级自己的知识和技能,在集体中展现真实的自我,并在伙伴的支持下不断拉伸自己的边界,拆掉思维里的墙,开发自己内在已有的巨大潜能和资源。

应用哲学离不开生活的践行。在学期中,学习者会扮演小哲学家,辩论选手,展开一场小型辩论会。还会通过制作视频的形式,将学习者自身对于哲学的理解讲给其他初高中生听。写作作品集和自我反思,将会巩固学习者个人的学习历程,反思个人成长和自我意识。学习者会将所学和思考的力量融入生活,和每日所见所感所惑联系起来,知道如何去思考,如何去选择,如何拥有好的生活。

ENGL 2002: 创意写作入门

创意写作入门是一门中阶英语课程,关注于英语创意写作和当代文学。希望学习者通过对自己的生活和周围不同生活的探索,能够建立起独特的身份认同档案。同时,通过接触不同的当代文学作品和写作体裁,为学习者提供一个寻找独特表达方式的机会。本课程的能力涉及口语互动、创意写作、美学欣赏和自我认知。本课程的沉浸式英语环境也将通过阅读、听力、写作和口语加强学习者的语言能力。本课程的最终成果将是一本或多本自己的作品集,学习者可以通过出售这些作品集在写作领域赚取第一桶金。

ENGL 5002: AP英语文学与创作

这是一门高阶英语课程,主要包括英语创意写作和当代小说。通过探索不同的小说体裁,学习者能够发现每一种体裁的独特性,从而选择和创造自己的体裁。本课程的沉浸式英语环境也将通过阅读和听力、写作以及口语来磨砺学习者的语言能力。本课程的最终成果将是一本或多本自己的小说作品集,并在全班范围内进行编辑和打印。“如果你有兴趣探索各种小说的写作风格,与自己的世界建立联系,同时提高英语技能,那么这就是适合你的课程。”

WHIS 5001: AP 世界史

在世界历史课堂中,学习者将研究从1200年至今的历史事件、人物、发展和过程。学习者将锻炼并使用与历史学家相同的方式:分析第一手史料和其他资料,提出论点,建立历史事件之间的联系,以及应用对比、分析起因、连续性和变动性的论证技能。该课程有六个主题供学习者在整个课程中进行探索,以便在不同时间地点的历史发展之间建立联系:人类和环境、文化发展和互动、治理、经济体系、社会互动和组织,以及技术和创新。

POLI4001: 比较政治

政治学家弗朗西斯·福山曾说过:“只懂一个国家的人不懂其他国家。”他告诉我们,为了理解当今世界正在发生的事情,我们必须通过比较性思考的方式来扩大和深化我们的知识。比较政治不仅是一种研究方法,也是一个研究领域。我们将一起深入研究诸如以下问题:为什么会发生阿拉伯之春?为什么阿富汗是一个“失败”的国家?为什么民主化在尼日利亚没有成功,而在其他国家却成功了?这些问题对学者来说很重要,也对我们理解当今的世界政治起到了关键性作用。因此,在这门课程中,通过探索比较政治的各种主题,学习者不仅会了解当前的世界政治,还会获得有利于自身分析问题的比较思维方法。 

ENGL 5003: 学术写作

学术写作是一个为期一年的阅读和写作课程,也是一门大学前置课程,为学习者步入大学、应对不同专业的写作任务做好准备。学习者需要完成四种大学里最常见的写作体裁「Summary Response Essay」、「Rhetorical Analysis Essay」、「Argument Synthesis Essay」、「Reflective Essay」。

该课程旨在提高学习者的批判性阅读、写作和思维能力,他们可以将这些能力应用于进一步的大学写作课程和其他学科课程。大部分的课堂时间会由小组工作和讨论、同学习者互评、课堂讨论、讲座和课内写作练习组成。

ENGL 5004: AP 英语语言与写作

AP英语语言和写作课程的目标是培养学习者的阅读和写作技能,并可以达到大学水平。

这门课程希望引导学习者,在阅读不同的文本时,可以成为充满好奇的、带有批判性思维的,亦或是能够产生共鸣的读者。同时,对于不同读者提供不同内容,也可以成为灵活的、具有反思性的作者。

学习者在该课程中的阅读和写作练习,将加深和扩大他们对书面语言修辞的理解:「在特定情况下传达作者的意图并引起读者的共鸣」。

 AP英语语言与写作课程的重点主要包含三个方面,「发展和修改基于文本证据的分析性和论证性的写作」「对非小说文本的修辞分析」「作家如何在写作和修改时做出的决策」。

 学习者将会通过论证、整合和引用研究来支持他们的论点。此外,他们还会阅读和分析一系列学科和历史时期中,非虚构文本的修辞元素及其应用效果——包括作为文本内容之一的图像。

在整个课程中,学习者将采用阅读他人论点然后产出自己论点的模式。学习者们将分析是什么使得别人的论点令人信服或迷惑、吸引人或沉闷、有说服力或无力。然后他们将转向自己的写作,尝试模仿他们在阅读和分析中遇到的那些有效论证方法。