Division of Technology & Engineering

Division of Social Science offers 18 courses based on CSTA K-12 Computer Science Standards and Advanced Placement (AP), one of which are AP certified.


We inspire all learners to understand and appreciate the beauty of technology and engineering. The curriculum introduces technology as a powerful tool to reform natural and human society and equip learners with engineering competencies for applications and solutions.


We believe that learners learn technology and engineering deeper when they are:

  • Curious, intrigued to research why and how.
  • Open, ready to take other perspectives and approaches.
  • Active, eager to make sense of concepts and ideas.
  • Practical, willing to seek transfer of knowledge and methodology.
  • Resilient, persistent to solve a problem or prove a theorem.
  • Reflective, ready to learn from trials and experiments.

COMP 1001: Intro to computer science 1 -- Data and computing

This course engages students in the value of data in an informational society by allowing them to analyze the relationship between data and information, apply basic methods and skills, and develop their IT skills to problem-solving.


In this course, learners will understand the value of data in an informational society, handle data and apply data reasonably, mastery of basic program design skills, use digital tools to solve the problem in daily life, recognize the increasingly important role of information technology in the information society, and gradually becoming an active participant in the information society.

COMP 1002: Intro to computer science 2 -- Information system and society

This course aims at satisfying the needs of the survival and development of the information society, After understanding the process and method of using information systems to solve problems, learners are expected to acquire a deeper knowledge of information security and social responsibility.


In this course, learners will understand the relationship between people, information technology and society. Learners will learn the role of information systems in society and reasonably use the information system to solve problems in real life. Learners may extend their learning via learning about the impacts of information security on our contemporary society.

COMP 2001: Programming 1 - Frontend technology

Learners will learn 3 coding languages in this course: script language(shell), programming language (JS), markup language (HTML and CSS). Learners are given the opportunity to exercise prior knowledge in building up their own webpage after the semester-long course.

COMP 5001: Programming 2 - Backend technology

In this course, learners will learn two kinds of coding language, Programming language (Java) and Query language (SQL) and very important thoughts: OOD and a very popular framework: Spring Boot. Learners will use a professional framework to build up their own web app after the semester-long course.

COMP 5002: AP Computer Principle 1 - Computer composition and Internet

Learners will learn the basics of information theory, microcomputer composition, and the fundamentals of computer networks. Learners will have the ability to DIY their own computers and address common issues of computers.

COMP 5003: AP Computer Principle 2 - Algorithm and data structure

This course introduces the role of data in terms of key concepts, characteristics, operations, and programming implementation of commonly used data structures. Learners will acquire a preliminary understanding of the ideas and methods of data abstraction and data structure during the process of problem-solving.

COMP 6001: Introduction to Artificial Intelligence

Learners will be able to describe the implementation process of artificial intelligence after understanding its development and key concepts. Through constructing an artificial intelligence application module, simple design and implementation of an intelligent system of the basic process and method, learners will use smart technology to enhance services with a sense of responsibility.

COMP 6002: Introduction to Internet of Things

Through the study of this course, students can search and make use of open-source hardware and relevant materials, experience the whole process of creation, design, production, testing and operation of works, preliminarily develop the ability to observe things and solve problems with the information technology discipline method, and improve the ability of computational thinking and innovation.

技术与工程学部

技术与工程学部以CSTA K–12 计算机科学标准和美国大学预备先修课程(AP)为标准,一共开设18门课程,其中1门为AP认证课。

 

我们激励所有学习者理解和欣赏技术和工程的魅力。本课程会介绍技术是改革自然和人类社会的有力工具,并使学习者具备应用和解决方案的工程能力。

 

我们相信,当学习者有以下几个方面时,他们会更深入地学习技术与工程学:

  • 好奇心,有兴趣去研究怎样和为什么的问题;
  • 开放,准备接受其他观点和方法;
  • 积极主动,渴望理解概念和想法;
  • 实用,愿意寻求知识和方法的迁移;
  • 坚韧,坚持不懈地解决一个问题或证明一个定理;
  • 反思,准备从所做的尝试和实验中学习。

COMP 1001: 计算机科学入门1-数据和计算

本课程通过让学习者分析数据和信息之间的关系,应用基本的方法和技能,培养学习者解决实际问题的信息技术能力,从未使得学习者了解信息化社会的数据价值。

通过本课程的学习,学习者可以了解数据在信息社会中的价值,合理处理与数据的关系并应用数据,掌握基本的程序设计技能,利用数字工具解决日常生活中的问题,认识到信息技术在信息社会中越来越重要的作用,并逐渐成为信息社会的积极参与者。

COMP 1002: 计算机科学入门2-信息系统和社会

本课程旨在满足信息化社会生存和发展的需要,在了解了利用信息系统解决问题的过程和方法后,希望学习者能对信息安全和社会责任有更深的认识。

通过本课程,学习者将了解人、信息技术和社会之间的关系。学习者将学习信息系统在社会中的作用,并合理地使用信息系统来解决现实生活中的问题。学习者可以通过了解信息安全对当代社会的影响来扩展他们的学习。

COMP 2001: 编程1-前端技术

学习者将在本课程中学习3种编码语言:脚本语言(shell),编程语言(JS),标示语言(HTML和CSS)。在一学期的课程结束后,学习者将有机会运用先前的知识来建立自己的网页。

COMP 5001: 编程2-后端技术

在本课程中,学习者将学习两种编码语言:编程语言(Java)和查询语言(SQL),以及一种非常重要的思维:OOD,和一个非常流行的框架:Spring Boot。学习者将在一学期的课程结束后使用专业框架建立自己的网络应用程序。

COMP 5002: AP 计算机原理1-计算机组成与互联网

学习者将学习信息理论的基础知识,微型计算机的组成,以及计算机网络的基础知识。学习者将有能力DIY自己的计算机并解决计算机中出现的常见问题。

COMP 5003: AP 计算机原理2-算法与数据结构

本课程从关键概念、特点、运行和常用数据结构的编程来介绍数据的作用。在解决问题的过程中,学习者将对数据提取和数据结构的思想和方法有初步了解。

COMP 6001: 人工智能入门

学习者在了解人工智能的发展和关键概念后,能够描述人工智能的执行过程。通过构建人工智能应用模块,简单设计和实现智能系统的基本流程和方法,学习者将利用智能技术提升服务质量。

COMP 6002: 物联网入门

通过本课程的学习,学习者可以搜索和利用开源硬件和相关资料,体验作品的创作、设计、制作、测试和运行的全过程,初步培养用信息技术的学科方法观察事物和解决问题的能力,提高计算思维和创新能力。