Division of Science

Division of Science offers 12 courses based on National Chinese Curriculum Standards, Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) and Advanced Placement (AP), four of which are AP certified.


To see the world in a grain of sand

And a heaven in a wild flower

Hold infinity in the palm of your hand

And eternity in an hour

—William Blake


 The goal of the science department of Moonshot Academy is to inspire and support learners to experience the beauty of science through an exploratory journey based on real-life scenarios. Courses are designed to foster independent thinking skills, learning inquires, and mastery of rich scientific knowledge in the macro and micro world. Students will be expected to acquire a thorough understanding of scientific research methods involving hypothesis, experiment, verification, qualitative and quantitative analysis and apply them to understand and transform the world. Additionally, learners will develop scientific competencies that allow them to form a scientific view of relationships between the individuals and the objective world, to find the internal motivation to explore nature, and to maintain their original curiosity about the world.


MSA science courses are categorized into different levels to meet learners' interests, needs, and ability levels. We offer introductory and foundational science courses, advanced science courses, and some elective courses with specific topics.

  • The introductory science courses mainly focus on the training of core scientific content that learners have learned prior to high school and other basic scientific research methods.
  • The basic science course is divided into physics, chemistry, biology and geography, and it focus on the training of core contents and scientific methods of discipline foundation.
  • The advanced science course is designed for students with a strong interest in each of the four subjects and the content is based on AP textbooks.
  • Elective courses are intended for students interested in specific subjects from various disciplines, with contents of elective subjects and beyond.

Objective

Students can acquire basic knowledge and interdisciplinary concepts in classical and modern physics, chemistry, biology and geography, including the following ideas:

  • Matter and Its Interactions
  • Motion and Stability: Forces and Interactions
  • Energy
  • Waves and Their Applications in Technologies for Information Transfer
  • From Molecules to Organisms: Structures and Processes
  • Ecosystems: Interactions, Energy and Dynamics
  • Heredity: Inheritance and Variation of Traits
  • Biological Evolution: Unity and Diversity
  • Earth's Place in the Universe
  • Earth's Systems
  • Earth and Human Activity
  • Crosscutting scientific concepts: Patterns; Cause and effect; Scale, proportion and quantity; Systems and system models; Energy and matter; Structure and function; Stability and change

Learners would experience the following scientific practices to form relevant competencies

  • Asking questions and defining problems
  • Developing and using models
  • Planning and carrying out investigations
  • Analyzing and interpreting data
  • Using mathematics and computational thinking
  • Constructing explanations and designing solutions
  • Engaging in argument from evidence
  • Obtaining, evaluating, and communicating information 

PHYS 1001: Introduction to Physics

Introduction to Physics is an introductory science course that invites students to observe and investigate nature from a scientist's perspective. It will provide students with scenarios where physics can support the real world and experiments and seminars for case analysis. Students will be encouraged to find ways that explain how nature is changing and developing in this course. The course will explore the connections and interactions of mass and energy as well as waves to electromagnetism. Hope this 1-year journey is worth it. 

PHYS 5003: AP Mechanics

As an introductory level course, Mechanics is based on mathematical calculations, scientific inquiries and laboratory experiments. Students will cultivate their knowledge of physics through investigations of topics including kinematics, dynamics, circular motion and gravitation, energy, momentum, simple harmonic motion, torque and rotational motion, and mechanical waves and sound.

PHYS 5004: AP Electricity and Magnetism

Electricity and Magnetism is an algebra-based, introductory high school-level physics course. Students will cultivate their knowledge of physics through investigations of topics including electrical force, field, and potential, electric circuits, magnetism and electromagnetic induction, geometric and physical optics, and quantum, atomic, and nuclear physics.

PHYS 5005: Calculus-based Mechanics

Calculus-based Mechanics is a college-level physics course. It covers kinematics, Newton’s laws of motion, work, energy, and power; systems of particles and linear momentum, circular motion and rotation, oscillations, and gravitation.

CHEM 1001: Introduction to Chemistry

This is an introductory course that provides an overview of chemistry and its application to real life. It aims to promote learners' curiosity and improve their skills for scientific discovery. This course lays the foundation for further studies in chemistry, material science, life sciences, and environmental sciences.


Therefore, "what is chemistry?" "What are the composition, structure and properties of matter?" "How does it react?" "How do we use chemistry to solve problems in real life?" Learners will find answers of above questions through a semester.

CHEM 3001: Intermediate Chemistry

This course introduces essential terms, concepts and laws in chemistry and relates them to materials and events in real life. Learners will learn chemistry in the context of their own experiences.


This course will focus on the following five questions: "what is the structure of an atom?" "What is the essence of chemical reaction?" "How are the elements in the periodic table arranged?" "How can chemical energy and electric energy be transformed into each other?" "What is organic chemistry?"

 

Through this course, it is hoped that learners can understand the basic properties and behavior of matter. On a deeper level, teachers hope learners understand that chemistry is the basis of technology. At the same time, chemical experimental technology also represents objective empiricism.

CHEM 5001: AP Chemistry

This course provides the professional knowledge in chemistry covered in a year-long college/pre-university level learning of chemistry concepts.


This course will explore "how the arrangement of particles affects the macro state of matter?" "How do particles form matter?" "What is the essence of chemical reaction?" "What factors affect the reaction speed?" "What does the change of enthalpy in chemical reaction mean?" "What is le Chatelier's principle?"

CHEM 6001:Chemistry and Life

In this course, we will learn about chemistry-related knowledge in life and how to apply them to obtain a better life experience through chemistry experiments closely related to life.

BIOL1001: Introduction to Biology

This is an introductory course in biology. Learners will develop their understanding of biology by exploring three themes: health, genetics, and ecology. This course will help learners enter the biological world through four major contents: from molecule to biology (structure and process), ecosystem (interaction, energy, and dynamics), genetics (inheritance and variation of traits), and biological evolution (unity and diversity).

BIOL 3001: Intermediate Biology

This is an introductory course for beginners of high school biology. Throughout the course, learners will have the opportunity to study cell biology and genetics from discussions over the problems of teenage obesity, diabetes and rare diseases. The curriculum will also cover evolution topics to help students understand the most influential theories in this field.

BIOL 5001: AP Advanced Biology

Adapted from the development of modern biology and life science, the curriculum is divided into five modules theme (cells, genetic and evolution, homeostasis and regulation, ecology, biotechnology). With each module theme focusing on one aspect of modern biology, collectively they will constitute a complete system of modern biology discipline. The completion of all module topics indicates one's mastery of core concepts in high school biology required by the Chinese National College Entrance Examination. Students will think critically, learn inquiringly, and participate actively in the relevant social issues. Such immersive learning experiences constitute key competencies required in life science subjects.


This course is designed for students interested in future studies in medical college, agronomy, medicine, life science, neuroscience and brain-like intelligence science, man-machine engineering, nutrition and food science, environmental science, ocean science and related fields. It is suitable for students who desire to participate in international and domestic biology competitions or become high-level student biologists. It is suggested to take senior high school chemistry and physics course is suggested at the same time.


Despite all the "instrumental rationality", as a natural science which directly touches "life", it helps one to understand and reflect on "what is a man" while looking at such issues as "the present and the past, I and others, man and environment, self-interest and altruism, competition and cooperation, contingency and necessity, strong and weak" and other major basic problem from a biological perspective. With a conceptualized understanding of the subject, biology equips us with a powerful, critical and natural thinking tool to study human development and social problems, dispels the myth of "one-dimensional man" in the era of industrial and technological dividends, and promotes the "all-round and free development of man".

GEOG1001: Introduction to Physical Geography

Physical geography is a subject that studies the phenomena of spatial distribution in the environment, the process of creating and changing these distributions, and the impact of these distributions on human beings. In this introductory course, we will explore the main concepts of physical geography and the tools and methods used by physical geographers to study landscape, ocean, climate and weather.

科学学部

科学学部以中国新课标为主轴,结合下一代科学教育标准(NGSS)和美国大学预备先修课程(AP),一共开设12门课程,其中4门为AP认证课。


一沙一世界,

一花一天堂,

无限掌中置,

刹那成永恒。

 ——威廉·布莱克


探月科学学部的目标是激励和支持学习者通过基于现实生活场景的探索之旅来体验科学之美。课程旨在培养学习者的独立思考能力、学习探究能力,以及掌握宏观和微观世界的丰富科学知识。学习者将被要求全面了解涉及假设、实验、验证、定性和定量分析的科学研究方法,并应用它们来理解和改变世界。此外,学习者将培养科学能力,使他们能够形成个人与客观世界之间关系的科学看法,找到探索自然的内在动力,并保持对世界的好奇。 


为了满足学习者的兴趣、需求和能力水平,探月学院的科学课程提供了不同层次的选择,包括科学入门课、中阶科学课程、高阶科学课程以及一些有特定主题的选修课程。 

  • 科学入门系列课程:主要针对高中以前的核心科学内容和基本科学研究方法的训练;
  • 中阶科学课程:分为物理、化学、生物,主要是对学科基础核心内容和科学方法的训练;
  • 高阶科学课程:内容以AP教材为主,是为那些对三门学科都有浓厚兴趣的学习者设置的;
  • 选修课:内容为学科选修和拓展,是为那些对各学科中特定科目感兴趣的学习者设置的。

目标

学习者可以获得经典和现代物理学、化学、生物学和地理学的基本知识和跨学科概念,包括以下内容:

  • 物质及其相互作用
  • 运动和平衡:力和相互作用
  • 能量
  • 波及其在信息传输技术中的应用
  • 从分子到生命体:结构和过程
  • 生态系统:相互作用、能量和动态变化
  • 遗传:性状的遗传和变异
  • 生物进化:统一性和多样性
  • 地球在宇宙中的位置
  • 地球的系统
  • 地球与人类活动
  • 跨领域的科学概念:模式;因果;规模、比例和数量;系统和系统模型;能量和物质;结构和功能;稳定和变化

 

学习者将经历以下科学实践,形成相关能力:

  • 提出问题和定义问题
  • 开发和使用模型
  • 设计和开展实验、调查
  • 分析和解释数据
  • 使用数学和编程思维
  • 构建解释和设计解决方案
  • 参与证据的论证
  • 获取、评估和交流信息

PHYS 1001: 基础物理学

作为最基础的科学课程之一,基础物理课邀请学习者一起观察和探索自然。学习者在这里,将会遇见物理应用于现实世界的不同场景,通过实验与讨论会的方式,探究有趣的物理现象在自然中的演化。随着课程的进行,学习者可能会找到另一种认识自然发展变化的角度。这门课程包含三大模块:热能和物质相、声光波、电与磁。希望这一年的旅程不虚此行。

PHYS 5003: AP 力学

作为一门高中物理入门级课程,力学是以数学计算、科学探究和实验室实验为基础。学习者将通过对运动学、动力学、圆周运动和引力、能量、动量、简谐运动、力矩和转动以及机械波和声音等课题的研究,丰富他们的物理知识,提升科学探索的能力。

PHYS 5004: AP 电与磁

电与磁是一门基于代数的高中物理入门课程。学习者将通过对包括电动力、电场和电势、电路、磁力和电磁感应、几何和物理光学以及量子、原子和核物理等主题的研究,丰富他们的物理知识,提升对科学的探索能力。

PHYS 5005: 微积分力学

微积分力学课程是一门大学水平的物理学课程。它包括运动学,牛顿运动定律,功、能量和功率,粒子系统和线性动量,圆周运动和转动,简谐振动以及引力。

CHEM 1001:基础化学

这是一门介绍性课程,提供了化学的概况及其在现实生活中的应用。目的在于鼓励学习者对外部世界的好奇心,以及提高他们科学发现的技能。该课程为进一步学习化学、材料科学、生命科学和环境科学奠定了基础。

那么,「什么是化学?」「物质的组成、结构和性质是什么?」「如何发生反应?」「我们如何利用化学来解决现实生活中的问题? 」这学期初会将上述问题提给学习者,他们会通过一学期的学习来探索答案。

CHEM 3001: 中阶化学

本课程介绍了化学中的基本术语、概念和定律,并将它们与现实生活中遇到的材料和事件联系起来。参与本课程的学习者将结合自身实践来学习化学。

这门课将围绕以下五大问题来展开:「原子的结构是什么?」、「化学反应的本质是什么?」、「元素周期表中的元素是如何排列的?」、「化学能和电能如何相互转化?」、「什么是有机化学?」      

通过这门课程,希望学习者可以了解物质的基本性质和行为。更深一层,希望他们明白化学是技术的基础,同时,化学实验技术也代表了客观经验主义。

CHEM 5001: AP 化学

本课程提供了为期一年的大学/大学预科阶段的化学学习中所涉及的化学专业知识。

这门课将会探究「粒子的排列如何影响物质的宏观状态?」「粒子是如何形成物质的?」「化学反应的本质是什么?」「什么因素会影响反应速度?」「化学反应中焓的变化意味着什么?」「勒夏特利尔的原则是什么?」

CHEM 6001:化学与生活

在本课程中,我们将通过与生活密切相关的化学实验来了解生活中与化学有关的知识,以及如何应用这些知识来获得更好的生活体验。

BIOL1001:基础生物

这是一门生物入门课程。学习者通过基于探究健康、遗传、生态学这三大主题,来培养他们对生物学的理解。这门课将通过四大内容来带领学习者进入生物的世界,分别是:从分子到生物:结构和过程、生态系统:相互作用、能量和动态、遗传:性状的遗传和变异、生物进化:统一与多样性。

BIOL 3001: 中阶生物

这是一门针对高中生物初学者的入门课程。在整个课程中,学习者将会从对青少年肥胖症、糖尿病和罕见疾病问题的讨论中学习细胞生物学和遗传学。该课程还将涵盖进化论主题,以帮助学习者了解这一领域中最有影响力的理论。

BIOL 5001: AP 高阶生物

本课程分为五个模块主题(细胞、遗传与进化、平衡与调节、生态学、生物技术),这也与现代生物学和生命科学的发展相照应。由于每个模块主题侧重于现代生物学的一个方面,它们共同构成了现代生物学学科的一个完整体系。完成所有模块主题的学习表明掌握了高中生物学的核心概念并达到了高考水平。学习者将批判性地思考,探究性地学习,并积极参与相关社会问题,这些沉浸式的学习体验共同构成了在相关生命科学学科里的关键能力 

本课程是为将来有兴趣在医学、农学、生命科学、神经科学和类脑智能科学、人机工程、营养和食品科学、环境科学、海洋科学和相关领域学习的学习者设计的。它适合于有计划地参加国内外生物竞赛活动或高水平生物学习者,建议同时学习高中化学和物理课程。

尽管有种种“工具理性”,但作为直接接触“生命”的自然科学主体,对生命现象的深度理解,从生物学角度来看待和思考“现在与过去、我与他人、人与环境、自利与利他、竞争与合作、偶然与必然、强者与弱者”等重大基本问题,就是对“人是什么”的理解和思考。通过对学科的概念化理解,生物学为我们研究人类发展和社会问题提供了强大的、批判性的、自然的思维工具,破除了工业和技术红利时代的“单向度的人”神话,促进了“人的全面自由发展”。

GEOG1001: 初阶自然地理

自然地理学是一门研究环境中的空间分布现象、创造和改变这些分布的过程,以及这些分布对人类产生的影响的学科。在本入门课程中,我们将探讨自然地理学的主要概念,以及自然地理学家用来研究景观、海洋、气候和天气的工具和方法。